image

We're going to make you fat and you'll love us for it.

With Christmas coming it’s that time of year to break out the baking. I make my usual fair of butter tarts, shortbread cookies and usually a failed attempt at something else because I’m adventurous like that. I’m thinking fudge would be a good attempt for this year but that’s besides the point.

So I’m known for my butter tarts. Or I like to think I am. I use my grandmother’s recipe which probably has been passed down in the family. But I can guarantee it my mom and I do not make the same butter tarts so something happened a generation back. Just so we’re all clear here. My recipe is the *authentic* one because it came from grandmama and mom probably got it from a cook book in eras past.

Let’s get this going here:

2 eggs
1 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup melted butter (not margarine, this isn’t margarine tarts, got it!)
1 cup currants (or raisins – if you want the *fake* recipe – looking at you mom)
1/2 cup nuts (usually walnuts but pecans work lovely too)

Beat eggs in bowl, add each ingredient after one at a time, and mix well after each one. Pour batter into pre-made tart shells because we all know we ain’t got time for home made ones, and if you do have time we don’t want to hear about it, k. This recipe should make 24-30 tarts. Bake in oven 20 minutes at 350F  (be sure to pre-heat your oven because what baker doesn’t know to do that).

Mine always end up with a crispy top that likes to sink and crackle when cooled,  kind of like the tart in the middle of my picture there and sometimes they’ll look like  pebbly tops with the raisins or currants and nuts sticking out. Either way they’re tasty.

You can also omit the nuts if people are allergic to them. You can use margarine if you really have to but I’ll be giving you the side-eye of judgement if you do. You can also do a 50/50 mixture of raisins and currants if you prefer variety. This recipe can be easily doubled and the tarts freeze well.

And now a nursery rhyme:

The Queen of Hearts,
She made some tarts,
All on a summers day.

The Knave of Hearts,
He took the tarts,
And stole them clean away.

That’s all I got.
Bye.